The Glory of Being a Baby Whisperer

There are times when I am so tempted

tempted to believe that I am not good

that I am not worth anything

that I cannot accomplish anything good.

Like this morning.

Let’s just say, peoplefriends, that it’s been a rough couple of weeks. I mean, GREAT, but tiring. And hearing lies about myself in the midst of this busy time, I was TEMPTED to believe. Because I’m a sinner saved by grace who has yet to be fully sanctified, and sometimes I buy into the world, and what it has to say, even when it’s not what the bible says.

But then, SOMETIMES, there is a crying baby.

A crying baby who doesn’t want anyone else.  And doesn’t want a snack, and doesn’t want a pacifier….

but wants me.

Have I ever told you what they call me in the nursery at work? The Baby Whisperer. And I hope you’ve never read that book that I’m only loosely referencing and will NOT link to, but basically it comes down to this: in three years, I have come across ONE baby that I could not pacify with my love. And when a child wants comfort and my giftings are uniquely somehow what this baby needs, it reminds me.

Reminds me that I was CREATED to do good works. This is literally what I was made for.

Have you ever felt like you just couldn’t do anything right? Poppycock. Look pplfriends, we can’t look at our circumstances and trust them to determine our truth, we’ve got to look at the truth (Bible) and let IT shape our view of our circumstances. Here’s what the bible says

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Eph 2:10)

The one who makes known the path of life has created us to walk that path and on it, to do good works. To accomplish good.

Even if it’s not the most glamorous. Even if it’s just smiling at the person arresting you for what will turn out to be a very expensive paperwork fiasco, (yes, seriously) or helping find your brother a good lawyer for his FOURTH felony arrest (yes, also true. it’s like an epidemic around here).  Even if it’s loving a little one by being their personal carrying device or snotrag (don’t even act like it doesn’t happen EVERY week)  and even if you never see what it is or when it happens, you can still rest in the fact that it’s true. God’s plan is stronger than your faults. I promise. And there are things you were made to do and they are good things, and you were created in Christ to do them.

oh uhm, i love you.

About ritzvalle

Incarnate Word, Childcare, Randomization.
This entry was posted in Austin Stone, babies, faults, lifestuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Glory of Being a Baby Whisperer

  1. Teresa says:

    “Look pplfriends, we can’t look at our circumstances and trust them to determine our truth, we’ve got to look at the truth (Bible) and let IT shape our view of our circumstances.”

    Wow. I needed that. Story of my life right now…and always. Love you and miss you!

  2. Cara says:

    I love you Ritz, and you are so much more than a baby whisperer, but what a mighty God we serve that he uses even those seemingly insignificant things for his glory and to remind us we are infinitely made.

  3. ritzvalle says:

    aw, thank y’all!! so sorry i didn’t see this until just now! Love you both!

Leave a comment